Category: Pharmacy

school of pharmacy alumni included in note

Dr. Derek McFerran ’06 (PharmD)

Dr. Derek McFerran ’06 (PharmD) was honored with the 2018 President’s Circle Award by Commonwealth Care Alliance (CCA) in Boston, MA for his significant contributions to the organization’s pharmacy and clinical programs. Derek currently serves as the organization’s Director of Pharmacy, where his work has developed and shaped clinical pharmacy team roles and patient impact, helped increase patient care quality while closing gaps in care, and forged productive, cost-effective vendor or provider relationships. The award, which is the organization’s highest employee honor, was presented by CCA’s president and CEO at a luncheon ceremony in January.

Zachary Binkowski ’09 (PHARM) ’11 PharmD (PHARM) ’17 MA

Zachary Binkowski ’09 (PHARM) ’11 PharmD (PHARM) ’17 MA was recently named Employee of the Year 2018 at St. Vincent’s Medical Center in Bridgeport, Connecticut. Dr. Binkowski is the Critical Care Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at the Medical Center and an Adjunct Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the UCONN School of Pharmacy. Through affiliation with the Medical Center he is also an Assistant Professor at Quinnipiac University’s Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine where his teaching focuses on various aspects of pharmacotherapy.

Ryan Vaughan, ’06 BS ’08 PharmD (PHARM)

Ryan Vaughan, ’06 BS ’08 PharmD (PHARM) started the UC Berkeley Executive MBA program in summer 2018. It is the #4 ranked Executive MBA program in the world. Ryan’s career goal is to help modernize healthcare in the United States.

Mark William Russell ’88 MS

Mark William Russell ’88 MS would like to announce his arrival to Duane Morris LLP as Special Counsel in New York. He focuses on patent prosecution and strategic counseling in the chemical areas, specializing in pharmaceuticals.

Kelley (Leahy) Hill ’80 (CAHNR) ’94 MS

Kelley (Leahy) Hill ’80 (CAHNR) ’94 MS is the Head of Global Medical Writing at Alexion Pharmaceuticals, a biopharmaceutical company focused on serving patients with rare and ultra-rare disorders. Her early career included 17 years as the Manager of Biology Lab Services at UConn Storrs. After completion of an MS in Pharm/Tox, she shifted career focus to bench research and drug development project management in several biotech and pharma companies that has matured to her current role, leading clinical writing efforts to support drug development from first-in-human to life cycle management of marketed products. She is an active member of the Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association, and also supports the Open Door food bank that serves Cape Ann (Massachusetts) communities.

Pamela Sardo, Pharm.D ’81 (PHR)

Pam Sardo, Pharm.D ’81 (PHR) currently employed as Senior Health Outcomes Liaison with Avanir Pharmaceuticals, volunteered after hurricane Harvey as a dispensing pharmacist in the NRG Center in Houston where 3000 displaced Texans were living. The make-shift pharmacy was staffed 24 hours a day and was stocked with donated medications mostly supplied from independent pharmacies. Emergency triage setting with volunteer physicians, nurses and pharmacists were providing patient care to address many acute care needs. Extremely rewarding experience.

Stefanie (Pratola) Ferreri ’97 (PHR)

Stefanie (Pratola) Ferreri ’97 (PHR), was recently promoted to Clinical Professor at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy in Chapel Hill, NC. She is also the current president of the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists and recently received the National Community Pharmacists Association Leadership Award. She lives in Durham, N.C. with her husband, Eric Ferreri ’95 (CLAS), and their 9-year-old twins.

Amy Christine Anderson Ph.D

Amy Christine Anderson, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Head of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in the School of Pharmacy at the University of Connecticut Storrs, died peacefully on July 17, 2016 under the loving care of her family and the staff at UConn Health – John Dempsey Hospital in Farmington.
A fabulous baker and pianist, she will be remembered for her tenacious and optimistic nature. She leaves and will be lovingly missed by her husband of 11 years, Dennis L. Wright; her children, Evan Bailey and Dean Stanton Wright; her parents Douglas W. and Joyce A. (Bailey) Anderson; and her many nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

Lynsey-Lyn Genauer ’13 PharmD

Lynsey-Lyn Genauer ’13 PharmD, a pharmacy manager for CVS, has been selected for the CVS Emerging Leaders Program for pharmacy supervisors.

Jennifer (Mitrano) Huntington ’05 (PHR) and ’07 Pharm.D. and Daniel Huntington ’04 (CLAS)

Jennifer (Mitrano) Huntington ’05 (PHR) and ’07 Pharm.D. and Daniel Huntington ’04 (CLAS) are proud to announce the birth of a baby girl, Avery Grace, on April 6, 2015.  She was welcomed home by her 2-year-old big sister, Ella Mae.