LinkedIn Find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter Google + Follow our RSS Feed


Honorary Alumni Award

Honorary Alumni Award

This award originated in 1972 and is presented time to time to a non-alumnus whose past, present and potential impact on the University community qualifies them for alumni status. The honoree's professional, personal, civic and philanthropic pursuits reflect the high standards and values associated with the University of Connecticut, the Alumni Association and higher education.

Leslie Maddocks

Leslie, the fifth child (of ten) of George E. Whitham ’41 and Helen V. Rogers ’44 was an employee at the University for over 36 years and became the only female Qualified Craft Worker (Glazier) in state service.

Mrs. Maddocks was an advocate for many employees in varied roles within the Connecticut Employees Union Independent (CEUI). “Leslie is continuously working for a more civil and respectful work environment for everyone at the University of Connecticut because she believes what is right and just for one person must also be right and just for everyone” stated Leslie Gemme, Assistant Director, AAUP UConn.

Through her grassroots efforts, the Something’s Happening Committee was established in 2007 with the goal of creating a respectful and civil workplace for women in classified positions on campus. “Today, the Something’s Happening Committee has representation from the rank and file members to the Vice Presidential level,” noted Carol Millette, UConn Women’s Center. “It is an example of breaking down institutional barriers to create a better University community for all of its members.”

Honorary Alumni Award Past Recipients
2011 - Phillip Blumberg
2010 - Randy Edsall
2009 - M. Kevin Fahey
2007 - Phil Austin
2006 - Geno Auriemma
2005 - James Calhoun
2004 - Nafe Katter
2001 - A. John "A.J." Pappanikou
1999 - Paul A. Young
1998 - Harold S. Schwenk
1992 - Harry J. Hartley
1991 - Donald E. Rowe

1989 - John T. Casteen III
1988 - William A. O'Neill
1985 - John A. DiBiaggio
1983 - John Toner
1982 - Monsignor James J. O'Brien
1981 - Roger K. Thalacker
1978 - John Dempsey
1978 - Glenn W. Ferguson
1976 - Victor Borge
1973 - Edward V. Gant
1972 - Homer D. Babbidge, Jr.
1972 - Albert N. Jorgensen