Alumni Trustees


The Board of Trustees is comprised of 21 members:

  • 12 appointed by the governor
  • Two elected by alumni
  • Two elected by students
  • Five ex-officio members, including the governor and the commissioners of agriculture and education

The Board is given jurisdiction over the university, including all of its colleges and other units. Trustees have a responsibility to serve the university by making the best possible decisions for the good of the university as a whole. The Board’s main responsibilities are to elect the president, adopt an annual financial plan of operation, enhance student life, and establish degrees to be awarded.

UConn graduates elect two alumni trustees to each serve a four-year term on the Board of Trustees and become the elected voice of all UConn alumni.

Current Alumni Trustees

photo of alumni trustee rick carbray

Rick Carbray ’75 Pharm.D

Rick Carbray ’75 was re-elected for a second four-year term (2015-2019) on the University Board of Trustees. Rick is a pharmacist and owner of Apex Pharmacy and Home Health Center in Hamden, Conn. He is a past president of the UConn Alumni Association, and a member of the UConn Club. Rick is a Commissioner of Pharmacy for the State of Connecticut and also a member of the UConn Health Center Board of Directors.

photo of alumni trustee donny marshall

Donny Marshall ’95 (BUS)

Donny Marshall ’95 has been a television sports analyst in the past 10 years, working for NBC Universal and ESPN. He is currently a Brooklyn Nets Analyst for YES Network. Donny played six years in the NBA for the Cleveland Cavaliers and New Jersey Nets. He played on the UConn men’s basketball team from 1991 to 1995, and was also a co-captain in his last two seasons. In addition to serving on the University’s Board of Trustees, Donny is a board member of First Tee of Connecticut, Windham Hospital, and the Nutmeg State Games.